top of page

10 Days To Healthier Eating Habits

In an effort to squeeze more vegetables into my day, I thought it would be fun to fill my breakfast, lunch and dinner plate half full of veggies. I shared my journey on Instagram and below you can view one meal from each of the 10 days (I apologize, I'm no food photographer). So, scroll through and read what happened during this challenge.

Day 1: This was one of my favorite meals of the entire 10 days. I had it probably 3 times during that time period. But it was a very different breakfast for me.

Day 2: Was breakfast as well. We have chickens so eggs for breakfast is fairly normal for us. I think I'll have to take a photography class because this was a lot better than it looks! Gotta love farm fresh eggs, too!

Day 3: Shredded Chicken Parmesan with a big ol' helping of green beans. The chicken and the beans are from the farm. I think that filling a plate half up with only 1 type of vegetable is a little different. But I am a fan of this technique because it's simple and easy and a timesaver. I love green beans so it worked for me!

Day 4: Back to breakfast again. This is my go-to way of squeezing veggies in, making a protein shake! Chocolate is a magic ingredient that makes veggies delicious......at least in a smoothie it does. I noted that I had already lost some weight. I had only gained a few pounds so my weight was coming back down to it's current normal range.

Day 5: I adore zucchini spaghetti. Red sauce all the way!

Day 6: Mmm green smoothies....really they are so good! I know they don't look it, but I crave these now.

Day 7: What to do with the left over zucchini noodles? Make Zucchini Hash! This was a new recipe for me and it was a simple and yummy breakfast. Notice that bacon and *gasp* white potatoes made an entrance. I don't have a problem with either food.

Day 8: I learned that when I fill my plate up with veggies, half a sandwich is enough for me. I love cooking vegetables in the skillet.

Day 9: I had cucumber juice for the 1st time! Our garden is full of cucumbers and I've found that this is really yum-o. I also like cucumber juice with green tea. The zucchini bread was amazing and the mini loaf slices are so cute!

Day 10: Pea soup was hands down my favorite meal of the challenge. But it's no beauty queen! It's one of those meals that look better than they taste. My toddler also really enjoyed the soup. I made such a big pot that I've frozen some to eat for later. I'll be reunited with it soon!

After 10 days of filling each meal "plate" half full of vegetables I've lost some weight and found some great ways to enjoy veggies more. (Actually, the entire family has been eating a little healthier on the whole.) I really want to extend the days for the next time I do the challenge. I'm thinking 30 days! Let me know if you like to join. : ) To see what else I'm up to on Instagram and to follow along for the next challenge follow me @pilateswithbritt. How are you eating more healthily?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page